Three weeks on.. (continued from part 2)


It was five or so.. almost sundown.. joining purpose with the dog I headed home for dinner.. also..

I loved to watch ‘Kabooster’ a cat named as my sister Lisa.. 9 years my junior.. tried to pronounce ‘Kaboodle’.. the name of an older cousins cat.. thus a new name born.. when my Step-dad came home from work.. turning on to our street the cat would race across the front yards to our house..

Step-dad Howard fed him..

I reached home and planted myself in the living room.. about fifteen minutes later I glanced up from my book to notice our neighbors from down the street had joined my mother in the kitchen..

Andy and Donna were regulars.. I babysat their son.. and when their second child was born sat with both of them..

Andy was a graduate of Rutgers making his dollars in sales.. selling in great explanation.. for he was a ‘College Life Underwriter’.. which was explained to me.. by him.. as equivalent to a master’s degree in.. insurance for the inevitable.. accepted as ‘okay’ because he worked for a ‘good company’.. it seemed he and his mate were out of smokes.. Moms being the good old cool Moms and scout solicited me for tobacco for a short time.. when Andy caught the drift and with expanded nostrils.. (yes his nose was wide open).. asked for and got a few cigs from me.. they inhaled my well filtered frajos.. in short order.. then.. securing change from moms escaped quickly to the market for their own brand..

I went into my room and listened to ‘Suzy Darling’ on my parents old clock radio which they passed along when they got another.. it was one of my favorites of the time.. along with all the.. what we called.. ‘night songs’.. ‘In the Still of the Night’.. ‘Tonight Tonight’.. ‘The Way You Look Tonight’.. and so on.. opening big into daytime love with the Beatles.. days of rock ‘n roll.. rhythm and blues.. and old 12 bar blues..

I sang along with Elvis.. Ray Charles.. Fats Domino.. Buddy Holly.. The Coasters.. Chuck Berry.. and a whole lot of other folks I would like to thank personally..  

I did not think of my strange spectral visitor for another three weeks or so.. it began with me awake and reclined in bed reading.. I had no memory of getting there.. nor did I know why a book with the name ‘Lord Byron’ on the cover and back bind was held in reading position by my two hands.. who was this Lordy toity Byron dude?..

I called Roger who quickly took me back to reality.. it seems Roger and Randy Toosher.. brothers in my grade.. and Randy a year behind.. had just been reassigned the last name ‘Twoshits’ by my old friend.. our ensuing burst of laughter took me home..   

Time came to me and I was just 12 again.. getting ready to be 13..

©AC.25.11.14.arr././    

About cryinforthedyin

I write philosophy and poetry. I postulate solutions for problems..I find similiar things in history to compare to present day, hoping to find a solution to the seemingly difficult task of giving and receiving love. I play music. Blues harp, piano, guitar, electric and acoustic. I sing..I love to sing..Peace Tony
This entry was posted in Amnesty International, Animal Rights, ASCAP (American Society of Composers Authors and Publishers, California, City Life, Dance, Energy, Freedom, Honor, Human Behavior, Human Rights, Humor, Love, Music, New York, On Line Writing, Peace on Earth, Psychology, Pyschic Phenomena, Song Writers Guild of America, Telepathy, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Reply

