Better set to Music


In 17th Century from Europe they came.. dreamers with a wanderlust.. away from

English: "The First Thanksgiving at Plymo...

English: “The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth” (1914) By Jennie A. Brownscombe (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

imposed shame.. Exploited by kings.. petty nobles.. robbers rude.. thieves dressed as soldiers in a war.. bloody and crude..

Pilgrims settled in a new land.. place to live and care.. I wonder if a song was sung.. with a dinner shared.. 

‘Red man will you join us at our table.. on this day we give deity thanks.. honor without judges or stale labels.. we coin no money.. have no crooks or banks’..

I can almost feel their excitement.. in time of new ideas learn new names.. a new land fresh in smell and promise.. no long gone tired threats of royal games.. 

‘Grab you up a turkey fancy dressers.. garnish it with berries leaves and root.. we will eat then dance to heavy drum song..  dance in joyful song.. bright sparking soot’..

There are tables set in love Thanksgiving.. some with turkey fixings salad greens.. there are some who give thanks just for living.. orphans laugh at farts after their beans..

Still a universe flows all directions.. everything thought just as well is real.. this day gives a time special in the Thanking.. thanks for life.. a way to love and feel.. 

Here in California I feel lucky.. pray thanks for each day of peaceful ways.. today my thoughts turn East in prayer of reason.. recognize all actors in this play..

In dark times of fear and superstition.. mighty cultures based on vengeance old.. we see the lies when liars seek to use us.. we should think on those long dead and cold..

Thought for this day.. When I started these blog writings I met and communicated with some great people.. one was a grad student.. young and very much into her religion.. which was Muslim..

I felt about violent action as I do now.. it is a waste.. in every sense.. after some writing.. interspersed with, what I thought to be her ‘advisor’ or mentor.. she wrote me.. saying.. ‘you are free Tony.. free’.. and I felt that.. for I felt she was weighted and committed to a more cumbersome path than me..

Though I have faith, though I have a respect for those who wrote.. translated and edited religious works of all kinds.. from all cultures.. I believe those thinkers.. those who cared so..  would keep the foundational things found in religious applications should they rise.. with respect to the times. 

‘We are not bound, in any sensible way, to feudal situations stemming from customs of another time’. 

I hope those tied by the lines and knots of their ancestors will find the same connection with the living of this time.. HAPPY THANKSGIVING.. Peace Tony

©AC.21.11.12.arr././

About cryinforthedyin

I write philosophy and poetry. I postulate solutions for problems..I find similiar things in history to compare to present day, hoping to find a solution to the seemingly difficult task of giving and receiving love. I play music. Blues harp, piano, guitar, electric and acoustic. I sing..I love to sing..Peace Tony
This entry was posted in ACLU, Amnesty International, Animal Rights, California, Dance, Freedom, Honor, Human Rights, New York, On Line Writing, Peace on Earth, Song Writers Guild of America, University of California at Berkley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Reply

